Friday, January 07, 2005

hi, i'm speechless. nice to meet you

Proposed VA bill will send women to jail if they have a miscarriage and fail to report it in 12 hours.

From the text of the bill:
Provides that when a fetal death occurs without medical attendance, it shall be the woman's responsibility to report the death to the proper law-enforcement agency within 12 hours of the delivery. Violation of this section shall be punishable as a Class 1 misdemeanor.
From Maura's post:
Virginia is one of only 7 states, however, that mandate the reporting of loss of all "products of conception" regardless of gestational age. This includes both spontaneous losses of pregnancy and induced terminations of pregnancy, though the required data elements are different for abortion. [emphasis hers]
Valid points also brought up in the article: What if you don't know you're pregnant? What if you haven't yet sought prenatal care, and don't a have a specific doctor to report to? What exactly will a police officer say to you on the phone after such a private moment?

And also: all "products of conception"? Slippery slope, anyone? Maybe next women in Virginia will have to report that they've menstruated every month. Unlikely we'll see any of this come down on the male side of the equation, though.

Link via Maladaptive.